living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Breakfast Bananas with Spiced Agave

I am so pleased to say that we have finally moved into our new place!  It is out of the city center and right next to the lake in a lovely area called Rotherbaum (Red Tree in German).  After living in city centers for many years now I forgot what it’s like to only hear the trees blowing at night.

So after many weeks of slowly unpacking and a few trips to IKEA we finally able to enjoy a meal at our dining room table.  Weekend breakfast being my favorite, consist of a brightly colored fresh fruit salad.  But in my new, double the size kitchen I have the counter space to be more creative.  So here are 2 versions of a twist on the normal fruit salad, Breakfast Bananas in: Berry flavor with Raspberries, Pecans and Lemon Cream; and Tropical flavor with Mango, Macadamia Nuts and Coconut Cream.  For presentation purposes I made a half recipe of both for the photo above.  Serve it with Spiced Agave on the side and drizzle right before you eat.  Enjoy these for breakfast, dessert or make the cream and agave in advance and take it to work for the afternoon sweet tooth cravings!

Breakfast Bananas with Spiced Agave

Breakfast Bananas:

  • 2 Bananas
  • 1 recipe for Lemon or Coconut Cream (recipe follows)
  • 1/2 c Raspberries, Mango or other fruit
  • 1/4 c Pecans, Macadamia or other nuts
  • 1 tsp Dried Unsweetened Shaved Coconut
  • 1 recipe for Spiced Agave (recipe follows)

Slice the bananas lengthwise and set on a plate with the flat/ cut side up.  Spoon the cream over the bananas and top with fruit and nuts.  Sprinkle with coconut and serve with the left over fruit and agave, allowing your guests to drizzle themselves.

Lemon Cream:

  • 1/2 c Cashews (optional, soaked for 30 min)
  • 1 1/2 tbls Lemon Juice
  • 1 tbls Filtered Water
  • 1 tbls Agave Nectar
  • Pinch of Vanilla Powder

Coconut Cream:

  • 8 + 3 tbls Dried Unsweetened Shaved Coconut, separated
  • 6 tbls Filtered Water
  • 2 tbls Fresh Young Coconut Meat or Cashews (optional, soaked for 30 min)
  • 1/2 tbls Pulp from the Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Agave Nectar

Blend 8 tbls of dried coconut with the water for 30 seconds.  Strain through a nut seed bag or mesh metal sieve to produce 3 1/2 – 4 tbls of Coconut Milk.   Blend 3 tbls Coconut Milk with the rest of the ingredients in a Magic Bullet using the flat blade or blender until completely smooth.

Spiced Agave:

  • 1 tbls Agave Nectar
  • 1/2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice (Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Ginger and Cloves)

In a small bowl, shift in spices over the agave nectar being sure to stir continually to prevent lumps.

Serves 2

9 responses

  1. Congrats on your new place! This looks so fabulous! Yum!!!

    November 14, 2010 at 20:15

  2. Lynn

    Wow… This looks (and sounds) incredibly delicious…
    Thank you for sharing!

    Sending you and your new place good vibes, good cheer and good eats! I think, from the sound of it, you already have all 3 handled. : )

    November 14, 2010 at 21:36

  3. Yes – this would be my perfect breakfast!

    November 15, 2010 at 01:44

  4. marita

    Yummm…I want to pop right over for this wonderful looking breakfast!

    So happy you have a new place with twice the space!

    I don’t know how you’d get more creative, but I am seeing that with you, anything is possible!

    Great post baby…please make it for me for my next visit.

    marita

    November 15, 2010 at 02:35

  5. Congrats on the new place! Coconut cream = heaven! Love it!

    November 15, 2010 at 02:59

  6. Sarah Aguas

    She returns! And with such flair! Both flavors are lovely and perfect for a morning boost. Post this on FB, por favor.

    November 15, 2010 at 06:41

  7. Bubbles LaRue

    Does Olive have her own room now? Oh my this is going to be what you make me for xmas breakfast.

    Great to think we’re going to be together in a short time.

    lov Cuz

    November 15, 2010 at 07:46

  8. Oh so glad I found your blog! I love raw food but don’t go out of my way to make it. I do make my own nut butters and have made almond milk. The coconut cream sounds so delectable yet healthy! I”ll have to use coconut milk cause I don’t have a coconut (excuse to go buy one? ha).

    February 20, 2011 at 20:58

  9. I have been craving this breakfast since I saw the recipe a few months back! I have promised myself to make it during this coming week🙂 Finaly!

    May 15, 2011 at 17:52

Leave a Reply

