living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Blueberry Walnut Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

Salads, most people think of it as a starter or a meal for dieting women or rabbits.  I can say with the fullest confidence that my Salads are a completely satisfying meal.  I eat my Salads for most lunch and dinner in the spring and summer months.  And I have found so many variations that I hardly notices that Salads are the main dish at dinner.  So how can I not get bored with this healthy meal?  The key is a variety of greens, dressing and toppings.  The first Salad I’m sharing with you is a Blueberry Walnut Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette.  This salad is loaded with a variety of topping and two kinds of greens with a sweet dressing drizzled over the top.  Get ready to have your taste buds explode with flavor!

Blueberry Walnut Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

Blueberry Walnut Salad

  • 4 c Mixed Greens or Spinach
  • 1 c Rocket / Arugula
  • 2/3 c Blueberries
  • 2/3 c Walnuts, chopped into large chunks
  • 1/2 c Dried Unsweetened Cranberries or Cherries
  • 1 Apple, cored and thinly sliced

In a large bowl, mix the greens and layer on all the toppings.

Citrus Vinaigrette

  • 1 tbls fresh Clementine or Orange juice
  • 3 tbls Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Maple Syrup or Agave Nectar
  • 1/2 tsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Pinch of Celtic Sea Salt
  • Pinch of Black Pepper

Combine all the ingredients in a small bowl and blend with a small spoon.  Pour the dressing over the salad one spoonful at a time being sure to distribute the dressing evenly.  No need to toss, just serve.  If taking for lunch keep the dressing separate until you’re ready to eat.

Serves 2 large, meal size Salads

6 responses

  1. Martha Hendricks

    What a beautiful salad Carla!! You have truly found your niche!! Great recipes and photos looking forward to trying all of them!!! Keep up all the wonderful work!!
    XOX
    Martha

    March 30, 2010 at 18:08

  2. Sarah

    This is SO Ina Garten. Looks like you are about to enjoy dinner while the sun sets in East Hampton.

    March 30, 2010 at 18:49

  3. agree with sarah! beautiful photogra

    March 31, 2010 at 08:18

  4. Maria

    I made the dressing..it was delicious. I did “tweak” it just a bit. I found only 1 T. of olive oil was neccessary. I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of raw honey and a tidbit more maple syrup and perhaps a tidbit more apple cider vinegar. I also squeezed in a little bit more orange juice. I kind of used your recipe as a base from which to start and then added. Of course, I used fresh ground pepper and salt. The color of the dressing is a beautiful bright orange and it tastes really delicious. Thanks for posting. I am not totally “sold” on the raw foods lifestyle but I’ve always been very health conscious, I abhor meat and generally eat raw about 60% of the time.

    June 14, 2010 at 19:50

    • Carla

      This Citrus Vinaigrette is a great one to tweak your way. And it is such a beautiful and filling salad to eat as well!

      June 15, 2010 at 07:31

  5. That looks truly inspired! My latest invention was actually inspired by your blog. It’s really awesome. You want to trade links? I’ll link you on my blog, happily. 🙂

    September 14, 2010 at 22:33

Leave a Reply

