living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

I have one wonderful reason to celebrating this holiday, I’m part Irish, thanks for that gene Mom! So while trying to find something green to make without the use of artificial food coloring, I remembered one of my attempts at a mint chocolate recipe. I love mint and chocolate together and it’s also my sister’s favorite Baskin Robbins flavor. Mint chocolate chip ice cream is a wonderful creamy mint ice cream with frozen crunchy chocolate chips. So with some major tweaking last night and newly purchased tartlet forms, I have perfected my Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes! This is a fantastic version of the ice cream with a creamy mint filling and a moist fudgy cake with bits of crunchy cacao nibs. An individual green Irish themed dessert for all you American-Irish to enjoy with an Irish Breakfast tea or a pint of Guinness. Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Mint Cream Filling:

  • 3/4 c Cashews
  • 1/4 c Mint leaves, tightly packed
  • 3 tbls Filtered Water
  • 2 tbls Agave Nectar
  • Pinch Vanilla Powder
  • Pinch Celtic Sea Salt
  • 2 tbls Coconut Oil, melted

In a Magic Bullet using the flat blade, add the all the ingredients and blend until completely smooth and no mint pieces are visible. Place in fridge to set while you make the Chocolate Chip Cupcakes.

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes:

  • 1/3 c Walnuts
  • 1/3 c Dates
  • 1 1/2 tbls Cacao Powder
  • 1 1/2 tbls Cacao Nibs (this will provide the chocolate chip crunch)
  • Pinch Vanilla Powder
  • 1/2 tbls Filtered Water

In a food processor, all the ingredients except the filtered water. Once all the ingredients is mixed thoroughly add the filtered water and continue processing till a very moist dough forms. Lightly dab the inside of the tartlet forms with a paper towel with coconut oil. Divide the dough equally between the 4 tartlet forms and press your thumb down in the middle to create bowl like shape and continue shaping the dough to the sides.

To assemble, spoon in the Mint Cream Filling into the Chocolate Chip Cupcakes and garnish with cacao nibs and a four leaf clover. Enjoy immediately with a small spoon or place in the fridge until you are ready to serve. This is a very rich and filling cupcake so even though it only makes 4, it will serve 4 very happy people.

Makes 4 3″ Tartlet Forms

6 responses

  1. Sarah

    I’m FAMOUS! This is one of my favorite ice cream flavors and maybe I’ll even attempt to make this fabu dessert! This is a great picture, your plating is amazing!

    March 16, 2010 at 22:20

  2. Marita

    I’m FAMOUS too! I am ‘Yo (Irish) Mama’. I can almost remember introducing my Sarah to this delicious flavor of ice cream @ Baskin and Robbins. Always been my favorite!

    Can’t wait to try this little hummers, as I think I have all the ingredients.

    Happy St. Paddy’s day to our own Patrick and all the family.

    Nice work Carla!!!

    March 17, 2010 at 17:05

  3. Hallo Carla,

    vielen Dank, dass du mir gestern gezeigt hast, wie man diese wunderbaren kleinen Kuchen macht.
    Sie schmecken fantastisch!

    Ich werde mir auch diese kleinen Förmchen kaufen, sie sehen sehr hübsch aus.

    Viele liebe Grüße

    Isabelle

    March 24, 2010 at 13:04

    • you suhlod live life “with sprinkles on top” in regard to enjoying the small things. So I love the name of your blog!

      February 11, 2012 at 17:06

  4. Love the bright green colour!

    August 11, 2010 at 19:51

  5. Olga

    Hi Carla, this is delicious! I loved the combination.The cream is so velvety and fresh whereas the cacao base is more piquant and characterful. I didn’t have cacao powder so I used carob instead. It turned out great the very first time, thanks for the awesome recipe!🙂

    April 14, 2012 at 19:27

Leave a Reply

