living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Pineapple Icebox Cake

I noticed last weekend on my walk to the bakeware shop that… I love making food!  I had 2 desserts in mind  and needed a tart tray and an 8″ spring pan.  Laegel Handelshaus is my favorite store in Hamburg, clothes shops included!  It has a full wall of cookie cutters,  Japanese kitchen knives in lit up glass cases, French copper pots hanging from the ceiling and every kitchen utensil you may ever need for baking or cooking.  After I walked around the store twice with my little dog Olive, I paid for my 2 pans and received a free cloth bag with my purchase.  I have to say, I was so happy and somewhat proud that I received it!  Like it was a reward for shopping at my favorite shop.

So after a very trying week, I have finally found time to post one of my mid week creations, A Pineapple Icebox Cake.  It has been freezing temperatures here but this summer cake gave us the first hint of the long summer to come.  The Lemon Cookie Crust is crunchy and sweet with a hint of lemon zest.  And the Pineapple Cream is light and airy and even sweeter with the Pineapple Whip over the top.  This cake uses 1 whole pineapple and is actually 3 different things in one, a lemon cookie (crust), a pineapple pudding (cream) and a pineapple smoothie (whip topping).  All together it came out beautiful with the different shades of yellow layers.  Please enjoy indulging  this 3 in 1 dessert!

Pineapple Icebox Cake

Lemon Cookie Crust:

  • 2 c Cashews
  • 2 tbls Coconut Oil, melted
  • 2 tbls Agave Nectar
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Powder
  • Juice from 1/2 Lemon
  • Zest from 1 Lemon

Grind the cashews in a food processor or Magic Bullet on the flat blade till a meal is formed.  Mix the cashew meal and the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and press into a 8″ Spring Pan.  Be sure to lightly wipe the pan with coconut oil and to only push the crust very gently into place as you want it to be light and not a tough crust.

Pineapple Cream Center:

  • 1 1/2 c Pineapple
  • 1/3 c Almond Milk
  • 1/2 c Cashews (optional, soaked for 2 hours)
  • 3 tbls Coconut Oil, melted

Blend all the ingredients in a blender until there are no cashew chunks left.  If  it is coming out a bit grainy then continue blending in Magic Bullet using the flat blade in order to get a completely creamy consistency.  Pour over the cookie crust and place in the freezer for 1 hour until it is slightly set.

Pineapple Whip Topping:

  • 3 1/2 c Pineapple or the rest of the Pineapple

Blend the pineapple in a blender until smooth.  Keep the lid on the blender and let the mixture sit in the in the fridge for an 1-2 hours so that the pulp separates from the juice.  The pulp will float to the top.  To test that it has separated enough, take a spoonful and turn it upside down.  If it is does not drip off, then it is ready.  Spoon out over the Pineapple Cream and place in the freezer for 2 hours or overnight.

To serve let defrost at room temperature for 20 min or until desired softness.  Remove the spring pan sides, slice and serve.  This cake will keep for several days in the fridge and up to 3 months in freezer ready for moments when cake craving hit!

Makes 1 8″ Spring Pan Cake

9 responses

  1. these pics are great! and of course i would love to have a piece

    March 15, 2010 at 09:09

  2. Marita

    This cake looks so yummy and the description of it sounds even yummier. I don’t enjoy making food that much, but after making the Bee’s Knees Chocolate Dream Pie, I have decided it is worth the effort to ‘whip’ up these delicious raw food desserts. That chocolate pie is so yummy and flavorful, and the best part is, I know it isn’t full of sugar and other things that are not good for me. I can’t wait to make this and enjoy the nice flavors.

    You are onto something marvelous here, and the raw food desserts will catch on once someone makes even one recipe and enjoys it and how healthy it is.

    Looking forward to the next recipe and I will definitely try this one soon.

    March 15, 2010 at 13:50

  3. Ai

    Carla!

    I just wanted to let you know that Marita made a this delicious looking Pineapple Icebox cake!!! which I am not allowed to touch yet… This cake looks great!! I cannot wait to have one!!

    April 6, 2010 at 05:43

  4. Pam

    I made this too and it was pretty good!

    May 26, 2010 at 12:42

  5. Pingback: Raw vegan recipe of the week: pineapple cake « Jozi (Un)cooked: raw & vegan life in Johannesburg

  6. Pingback: Raw Tuesday recipes: Tacos and pineapple cream cake « Jozi (Un)cooked: raw & vegan life in Johannesburg

  7. maria

    Hi there:

    This looks so pretty and Id like to make it but could you please clarify the instructions on the top layer.

    After separating the juice from the pulp as your instructions say to do, do you spoon the juice-less pulp over the top of the pie or do you put just the separated-out juice on top?

    Thanks

    Maria

    August 22, 2010 at 22:10

  8. Hi Josie,

    I am a raw food educator and chef here in Israel. My mouth is just watering over this lovely looking pineapple cake!
    Since we have a raw foods potluck on Sunday morning, I am actually going to try one of your dishes. Our theme is “Warming Foods” so I would like to bring your shepard’s pie dish.

    November 9, 2011 at 06:40

  9. X

    I want to make this cake for my boyfriend’s birthday next week! I might make another one for variety, and since it’s late fall, it might be good to have something ‘warmer’, with chocolate and nuts…(excuses to make more cake). I will post how it/they turned out!

    December 1, 2011 at 03:14

Leave a Reply

