living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Chocolate Hazelnut Fondue

Chocolate and Hazelnuts… my absolute favorite choco combo!  Nutella has been my biggest weakness since my vow to eat healthier.  So I decided I needed my own healthy version of this chocolate spread but more on a dipping version for fruit.  The result, a perfect guiltless chocolate fondue with a hint of hazelnut flavor.  And the wonderful bit about this fondue is that it does not need to be heated, it stays as a chocolate sauce so it is ready for fruit dipping immediately!

Chocolate Hazelnut Fondue

  • 1/4 c Hazelnut Butter
  • 1/4 c Agave Nectar
  • 1/4 c Coconut Oil melted
  • Pinch of Vanilla Powder
  • Pinch of Celtic Sea Salt
  • 1 1/2 tbls Cacao Powder

Mix the hazelnut butter, agave nectar, melted coconut oil and salt in a small bowl.  Shift in the cacao powder and blend completely being sure to eliminate any lumps.  Pour into a fondue pot to enjoy immediately with strawberries, apples or bananas.  Or store in a jar to enjoy whenever a chocolate attack arises with fruit or bread.  This will stay as a syrup consistency if stored at room temperature.  Just be sure to give it a good stir before dipping or spreading.

Makes 1 cup

5 responses

  1. please make this when im there

    February 28, 2010 at 19:31

  2. Marita

    Wow, I love this recipe! It looks so adoable and easy to make. Also in individual cups, the fondue can be as little or as much as you like on the berries. Mmm, where are the bananas and kiwi???

    February 28, 2010 at 19:34

  3. Yummy! It looks very delicious, Carla! It’s so great you find other possibilities to eat sweet AND healthy.

    Wishing you a great start in March!

    Isabelle xx

    February 28, 2010 at 21:13

  4. Rose

    Hi Carla, I made this yesterday too, and it does keep quite nicely at room temperature, so when I need a little snack, I grab a banana and dip away!
    I did not have hazelnut butter, but I did have some almond butter that I wanted to use up and it worked out nicely with a little splash of vanilla. I wonder what ground espresso beans would be like, but I digress, and it is not raw then, is it?
    Anyway we are having some fun with your recipes and loving it.
    Rosie. :-].

    March 10, 2010 at 01:00

    • Carla

      I’m so happy you are making these recipes and posting your feedback! Thank you! Unfortunately espresso beans are not raw but experiment with whatever you think taste good! And I think the fondue can be made with either hazelnut or almond butter. I’m sure even natural peanut butter would taste delicious for an almost Snickers bar like taste!

      March 13, 2010 at 23:19

Leave a Reply

