living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Tuscan Frangipane with Figs

Hello my lovely and patient readers! The kitchen has been in major transition with several months of traveling and moving to a new European city! So I’m writing you from my new home here in Amsterdam. But before we dive into my love affair with this new city, I have plenty to catch up with and my first post from this long pause is inspired by my travels through Tuscany!

I ventured through Sienna, Florence, Lucca and Pisa in May with my number one traveling partner, my mummy and I must say…all we did was eat! But in between meals we strolled down the alleys that were barely large enough to fit a car and piazzas lines with fountains. Although each city was incredibly different, they each had their own form of Tuscan traditions, food, history and charm. So while I was in this region of Italy, I fell in love with 2 things: almond flavored desserts and figs! So everyone takes something different away from their travels through Tuscany and for me it is this Tuscan Frangipane with Figs. The frangipane hits your mouth with several flavors with the sweet almonds, lemon zest and vanilla bean. Topped with figs, thyme, and orange zest, this lovely dessert will impress all guests with the diverse flavors of all things that are Tuscan!

Tuscan Frangipane with Figs

Tuscan Frangipane:

  • 3 c Almond Meal
  • 1 3/4 c Filtered Water
  • 6 tbls Honey or Agave Nectar
  • 4 tsp Lemon Zest
  • 1/2 tsp Almond Extract
  • Seeds from a 2 Vanilla Beans

Blend all the ingredients for about 30 seconds or until smooth. Pour into a container and let set in the fridge for a few hours or overnight to allow the flavors to open up. Once ready to serve, equally pour into 2 wine glasses.

Fig topping:

  • 2 Figs
  • Orange Zest
  • 2 sprigs of Fresh Thyme

Cut each fig into 4 segments. Top each wine glass with the 4 fig segments and sprinkle the orange zest and thyme over the top. Serve immediately.

Serves 2

20 responses

  1. Denise

    This dessert looks wonderful! Just wondering — on the “Frangipane” part of the recipe, you wrote: 1 ¾ c tbls Water. Not sure whether that’s cups or tbls! While I *think* the cups would too much water, it seems as tho’ the tbls could be too little. Tho’ perhaps with the liquid sweetener/liquid extract it still would blend smoothly… Thanks for clarifying!!

    October 19, 2011 at 13:36

    • Carla

      Hi Denise, thanks for noticing my typo! It’s cups and it doesn’t come out too watery as the almond meal absorbs it. I hope you can enjoy it!

      October 19, 2011 at 13:58

  2. Wow! I’ve never tried frangipane before (and I even lived in Tuscany for a summer!), but the ingredients really remind me of marzipan! And if it is ANYTHING like marzipan, chances are I would obsess over it. I’ll have to try this recipe for sure! Thanks! :)

    October 19, 2011 at 13:51

    • Carla

      Hi Desi, Yes it is similar tasting to Marzipan! You would love this dessert then!

      October 19, 2011 at 13:59

  3. I am happy you are back, Carla! I was missing your posts!

    October 19, 2011 at 13:58

    • Carla

      Thank you Maggie! There are more post lined up so the pause will not be another 5 month pause!

      October 19, 2011 at 14:02

  4. Oli

    Looking forward to more sensational foods!

    October 19, 2011 at 14:37

  5. heather

    Have you ever thought about selling your mailable treats on etsy?

    October 19, 2011 at 15:18

    • Carla

      Hi Heather, I will have to look into that! But I’m flattered that you would think anyone would even buy them!

      October 20, 2011 at 15:23

    • Denise

      I just might buy them! Not too much available here in Europe….and the little that IS available (raw) is quite expensive….

      October 20, 2011 at 15:40

  6. this might be my fav post. love the presentation. can you make some and mail to LA? thanks!!

    October 19, 2011 at 18:38

    • Carla

      Thank you my sister! I will make it for you at Christmas but we’ll have to go hunting for figs!

      October 20, 2011 at 15:19

  7. Lovely recipe! Glad to see a post!

    October 19, 2011 at 20:26

  8. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Carla, you’re back! This looks lovely, and I can’t wait to see posts from you more often now that you’re settled.

    October 20, 2011 at 01:43

    • Carla

      Thanks Amber! Did I see correclty that you have/had a cookbook coming out?

      October 20, 2011 at 15:18

  9. Looks delicious! I’m living in Tuscany and you are right – the figs are amazing. I look forward to making this! Thanks.

    October 20, 2011 at 06:20

    • Carla

      Hi Alison, It’s good to know from someone living in Tuscany you approve of the post! Thanks!

      October 20, 2011 at 15:19

  10. marita

    Carla’s back! What a beautiful looking dessert, and I bet it tastes wonderful too. Love those pictures of ‘our’ travels darling. Happy settling in in Amsterdam!

    October 22, 2011 at 21:46

  11. Lenna (veganlenna)

    This looks so tasty, I can imagine ordering this in some fancy top restaurant :) You are very talented!

    October 23, 2011 at 17:27

    • Carla

      Thank you Lenna! That is so fantastic to hear!

      October 25, 2011 at 12:04

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers