living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Pecan Pie

A few years back I was standing at a bus stop in London feeling like I was missing out on the Thanksgiving spirit.  I was leaving work and knew around the same time my family was starting to get together to enjoy Thanksgiving.  And then I had the most brilliant idea…my own dinner party!  I scrambled for my phone and dialed my friend Paddy’s number.  I asked him if he wanted to make a Thanksgiving dinner with me and invite a few common friends over.  He then turned as excited as me and we chatted about the menu the rest of my bus ride home.  That weekend we drove  to 3 different grocery stores to find the right ingredients to make the traditional dinner.  We had a fantastic Thanksgiving dinner in the end even though most of the food was served cold!  So with only a few more days until Thanksgiving, it’s time for Pecan Pie!  This year surprise your guests with this deliciously sweet raw version made with a Candied Pecan Crust and a creamy Citrus Pecan filling.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

Pecan Pie

Candied Pecan Pie Crust:

  • 1 1/4 c Pecans
  • 1/2 c Dates, if hard soak for 30 min in room temp water
  • 2 1/2 tsp Clementine or Tangerine Juice
  • 1/2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice or Cinnamon
  • Pinch of Celtic Sea Salt

Process the pecans until a course meal forms, then add the rest of the ingredients.  Wipe a pie pan with coconut oil and press the pecan dough into the pan to form the crust.

Citrus Pecan Filling:

  • 2 small or 1 1/2 large yellow Bananas
  • 1/2 c Pecans, soaked for 2 hours
  • 1/2 c Clementine or Tangerine Juice
  • 2 Soft Medjool Dates
  • 1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice or Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Powder
  • 3 tbls Ground Flax Seeds

Blend all the ingredients until completely smooth.  Empty into a bowl and fold in the flax.  Pour into the prepared pie crust and smooth over.  Decorate with additional pecans and the leaves from the clementines/ tangerines.

Makes 1 pie

6 responses

  1. ! this is amazing! I am a huge fan of yours. :) Pure wholesome food :)

    November 21, 2010 at 18:09

  2. Beautiful! And perfect for Thanksgiving! :)

    November 21, 2010 at 20:02

  3. Sarah Aguas

    Perfect recipe. Love Pecan Pie and love not using a pound of butter even more! We should submit to Paula Deen and see if she can stomach – hey ya’ll!

    November 21, 2010 at 21:59

  4. marita

    Yummm…pecan pie can be so sweet, but this looks delicious and not so much sugar….I want to try it!

    November 21, 2010 at 22:11

  5. Perfect!!

    I was never a fan of pecans but this past year or so they are growing on me ; )

    ~
    Michelle

    November 22, 2010 at 14:28

  6. Your desserts are ridiculous! They all look amazing! Can’t wait to try out some recipes!!! Great blog!!

    September 16, 2011 at 15:16

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 590 other followers