living abroad, traveling and fresh food inspirations

Lemon Icebox Cookies

It is the hottest July ever recorded here in Hamburg!  I feel like I’m melting every time I step outside!  And besides cold showers, one of the many ways I’m cooling off is enjoying these Southern inspired Lemon Icebox Cookies.  These summer cookies have a delicate tangy and sweet flavor that melt in your mouth.  This recipe makes a double batch and I keep half in the freezer at home and the other half at work.  So anytime I feel like enjoying a cool treat or feel like the heat is melting me, I grab one of these from the freezer and enjoy it with Watermelon Juice or Sweet Tea!

Lemon Icebox Cookies

  • 2 c Cashews
  • 1/4 c Agave Nectar
  • 3 tbls Lemon Juice
  • 2 1/2 tbls Lemon Zest, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Celtic Sea Salt

Grind the cashews in a food processor until a powdery meal forms.  Add the rest of the ingredients and continue processing on low until the dough forms a large ball.  Measure out 1 1/2 tbls size cookies out and roll and flatten into cookies shapes.  These can be as thick as you want, 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick.  Place in a plastic bag in the freezer.  These will keep for up to 3 months.

Makes 2 Dozen cookies

17 responses

  1. I hear ya on the heat! Ack! But these cookies look so refreshing, I love lemon in desserts! YUM!

    July 20, 2010 at 19:43

  2. Pam

    Love luscious lemon…oh so pretty! It’s hot here in Ohio too! Ugh! Enjoy!

    July 20, 2010 at 22:12

  3. thanks for this recipe. sounds amazing and i absolutely love lemon!!! definitely making these soon…like tomorrow!!!

    =)

    July 21, 2010 at 03:20

  4. Bubbles LaRue

    OH MY GOSH, my mouth is watering so bad from this photo. Tomorrow I’m going to the grocery store to get all ingredients.

    I wish I had a 24 hour store near by.

    Beautiful, healthy, and refreshing.

    Aaaahhhhh

    July 21, 2010 at 06:43

  5. These look good! I’m going to give them a try.

    July 25, 2010 at 18:04

  6. Makinna

    These are delicious!!! I made some this weekend and brought some over to Mary for a girly chat and cookie date :) they are sooooooo goood, my favorite part, just like when i was a kid, was licking the mixing bowl clean after making the cookies! MMmm mmm good!

    July 26, 2010 at 21:13

  7. carrie l carree

    I made these, oh wow they are so good, thanks for the recipe:)

    July 29, 2010 at 16:46

  8. mary

    These look delicious! I am pretty new to raw but these look amazingly easy. One quick question..do you soak the almonds first?

    July 30, 2010 at 01:11

    • Carla

      Hi Mary, if you decide to use almonds then I suggest you soak them overnight. The recipe calls for cashews but you do not need to soak them. :-)

      July 30, 2010 at 07:13

      • mary

        Thank you Carla. I totally meant to say cashews. Can’t wait to make these.

        July 30, 2010 at 13:41

  9. Pingback: Summertime Lemon Cookies | leanKitchen

  10. I just made these, got it from your post on goneraw.com! I can honestly say, in all my adult life, I have never licked my fingers so quickly while un-baking! Great recipe and beautiful presentation in all your ideas!!!

    August 8, 2010 at 01:11

  11. Mmmm, these look sooo good! Actually though, all of your food does!

    August 11, 2010 at 15:36

  12. These are delicious! Perfect lemon flavor.

    August 26, 2010 at 21:18

  13. do you think a combo of brown rice syrup and a little stevia would substitue alright for agave?

    September 9, 2010 at 18:47

    • Carla

      Hi Debbie, I have yet to start experimenting with brown rice syrup. I’m sure any sweetener would work as long as it is sticky since it is also the binding agent in this recipe.

      September 9, 2010 at 19:24

  14. Akesia

    Have you ever dehydrated them? I wonder how that would turn out. I am going to make these tonight. I will post my results. And I think some of the dough I will roll really thin (1/4 inch) btwn parchment and cut thinner cookies and attempt dehydrating for a couple hours and then glazing them!!! :) This will be my first recipe prepared from your site. All of your recipes are sooo very inspiring to me as I begin incorporating more raw foods into my diet.

    June 9, 2011 at 19:34

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 588 other followers